Our course is $39.99, and is considerably cheaper than most other concealed weapon courses offered online OR locally. Furthermore, to receive your firearm training certificate an additional $9.95 fee will be required upon successful completion of a third party online firearm training course.
Our course is very short (but resourceful), simple, and to the point. Many customers complete our course along with any other associated training and/or paperwork within 1 to 3 days.
To obtain a Florida Concealed Weapon License (CCW) you must be:
- 21 years of age or older.
- Display competency with a firearm (Typically done via a FWC Skills Day)
- Reside in the US and be a US Citizen OR permanent resident alien.
- If you are a permanent resident alien you must provide your Permanent Resident Alien card.
- If you are deployed with the Military, you must submit a copy of your deployment documentation along with your application.
- The initial fee for a Florida Concealed Weapon License for residents and non-residents is $97 which includes a $42 fingerprint processing fee and a $55 initial license fee.
- There is no $42 fingerprint processing fee for Active Florida Law Enforcement Officers, only the $55 initial fee. If you are a Florida Law Enforcement Officer that has retired within a year, there is no initial fees (no cost for the license). If you have been retired for more than one year, the initial fee is $30 and requires the $42 fingerprint processing fee. Renewals for all retired Florida Law Enforcement Officers cost $30.
- There are no charges whatsoever for active Judges.
- The initial and renewal fees for a Consular Security Official is $300.
- To obtain a revised or duplicate copy of your Florida Concealed Weapon License, the cost is $15.
The maximum processing time for a Florida Concealed Weapon License is 90 days from the date they receive your application. However, current processing times are around 30 days.
Renewals for residents cost $45 and for non-residents is $87 (includes a $42 fingerprint processing fee required for non-residents).
Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm Licenses that were issued on or after June 11, 2008 are valid for seven years.
Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm Licenses that were issued before June 11, 2008 are only valid for five years.
You can find the expiration date on the front of your license.
The following is a list of things that can cause an application to be denied.
- The physical inability to handle a firearm safely.
- A felony conviction (unless civil and firearm rights have been restored by the convicting authority).
- Having adjudication withheld or sentence suspended on a felony or misdemeanor crime of violence unless three years have elapsed since probation or other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled.
- A conviction for a misdemeanor crime of violence in the last three years.
- A conviction for violation of controlled substance laws or multiple arrests for such offenses.
- A record of drug or alcohol abuse.
- Two or more DUI convictions within the previous three years.
- Being committed to a mental institution or adjudged incompetent or mentally defective.
- Failing to provide proof of proficiency with a firearm.
- Having been issued a domestic violence injunction or an injunction against repeat violence that is currently in force.
- Renouncement of U.S. citizenship.
- A dishonorable discharge from the armed forces.
- Being a fugitive from justice.
Florida does not allow you to transfer another state’s concealed carry permit or license to Florida. You must apply for a new Florida Concealed Weapon License.
If you are moving to Florida and have a concealed weapon license or permit from another state that recognizes Florida Concealed Weapon Licenses, your permit is valid for 90 days from the date that you established legal residence via registering to vote, making a statement of domicile pursuant to s. 222.17, or filing for homestead tax exemption on property in Florida.
With a Florida Concealed Weapon License or a license or permit from a state that Florida recognizes licenses or permits from, you are allowed to carry concealed in a vehicle.
If you do not have a recognized permit, you are allowed to carry firearm in a vehicle as long as it is securely encased or is not otherwise readily accessible. Examples of securely encased would be in a gun case, glovebox or in a holster with a retention strap. An example of not otherwise readily accessible would be locked in the trunk of your car.
Due to changes in Florida rules and regulation regarding licensing you will most likely be required to fire a firearm during your FWC skills day.